Challenge Week #5: Media and Memory

20140409-135019.jpg

When I was little, I just couldn’t do without my Peter Pan movie. I remember the first time I watched it. It must have been around 2005. I was at my grandparents apartment, and I wanted to watch a movie. Little did I know my life was about to be changed.

My mom put the tape (remember those ancient things?) into the tape player. It was good at first although I didn’t think it was all that special — until I got to Neverland. The whole thought of a land were no one grew old was really cool to me. After that I couldn’t stop watching it. That whole week, every night, me and my brothers eyes were glued to the TV. Even my youngest brother, Kyle, who wasn’t old enough to think yet, seemed to like it.

Pretty soon we had a copy at my house. I watched it for a while, but then I grew out of it. I don’t think I’ve watched it since DVD’s became the thing. I can still remember our wide eyes watching Peter Pan fly with just one happy thought. I should try and find a copy of it somewhere and watch it again. I’m sure it wouldn’t be nearly as good as it was when I was 5, but still… It’s worth a try.

9 thoughts on “Challenge Week #5: Media and Memory”

  1. I am glad that you wrote your post about this movie! I really enjoyed it as well when I was a young boy. I like how you SHOWED how your were attached to this movie and how your eyes were GLUED to the tv! Great post Ryan!

  2. I remember watching this movie when I was little. I was so scared by the crocodile with the clock that I made my mom turn off the movie. I was a wimpy child.

  3. I like how you showed how you felt in your writing. Me personally when I was little I loved the Peter Pan movie too.

  4. I loved this movie when I was little. I wasn’t obsessed with this great movie, but I sure liked it. I like your part in parenthesis, “remember those ancient things,” but it made me feel old. 🙂

    Great post!

  5. I used to love that movie, especially Neverland. I would love it if could go there and never grow old. This was a good post and I t brought back all of the good memories of Peter Pan.

  6. “I should try and find a copy of it somewhere and watch it again. I’m sure it wouldn’t be nearly as good as it was when I was 5, but still… It’s worth a try.”

    Definitely worth watching at any age! And I think you’ll find that Peter Pan is a story that gets better as you get older: there is deeper meaning in the story that most young children can’t appreciate.

  7. I remembered watching Peter Pan all the time when I was younger. It was my go to movie when ever I was wanting to watch movie. I think it’s great how you showed hoe much you liked Peter Pan when you were young.

  8. Nice read my friend. I love how you really put emphasis on how much you loved this. How old were you when you loved it? I think you could have tied in when you watched it. This is exquisite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *