I am from…

 

        I Am from…

I am from the gate that kept my puppy from tearing up the couch upstairs

From dirty counters and full dishwashers at the end of the day

I am From the simple design of a modern house that holds so many exquisite memories

From the snake room and the legend of the creepy pre-owners and their obsession with reptiles

I am from the old tree that would always bang against my window

From the tree house in my backyard whose nails and boards feel like an extension of my body

I am from the bickering of my brothers and my mom trying to calm them down

From Molly the best dog in the world and Maggie whose memories stick with me

I am from Colorado each thanksgiving with the Padons and the warm fire on a cold night

And from the 49’ers playing in the family room every Monday night

I’m from “mow the lawn” and “ stop making fun of him”

And “you are my sunshine”

I’m from playing hide and seek in Papa Noel’s Christmas Tree Farm

I’m from Orange County and “U.S.A, U.S.A”

From Subway and finger pasta

From when my great great uncle flew a plane under the Golden Gate Bridge in the 50’s

And how mad his army commander was

I am the scrapbooks hidden in the cobwebs under my mom’s bed…and lodged in my heart.Coleguilla - Little fella
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Paco CT via Compfight

2 thoughts on “I am from…”

  1. I like the Molly and Maggie line especially…
    and I like Orange County itself. My family lives there, some in San Clemente and some in Newport Beach. I love to visit there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *